Welcome 2016!

I don’t normally set New Year resolutions.  I like to set goals and make plans but new years resolutions always seem doomed for failure.  In part, I think, because they are often broad statements that require a lot of change to make work; I’ll be healthier, I’ll exercise more, I’ll lose weight, I’ll be a kinder person.  None of these have a measurable end point so there’s no way of knowing if you’re succeeding.  And without a measuring stick, it’s hard to stay motivated.

I do have some goals for my little blog.  I’d like it to grow, I’d like to post more often, and I want to broaden my topics to do more than just book reviews.  I know all of those are the same vague type statements I just said aren’t good.  But I have actual definitions for what those mean to me, how I want to achieve them and how I’ll know if I’ve been successful.

My first specific action is to place myself on a book buying ban.  There is a pile of books sitting on my e-reader and my bookshelf waiting to be read.  I really want to work through these.  I’ve already pre-ordered a couple of things, and I’m not closing myself off to acquiring books in other ways, but I’m going to do my best to reduce the backlog a bit before I set myself free at Chapters or Bookoutlet.  There are some 2016 releases that I’m highly anticipating, such as the last two books in Paula Weston’s Rephaim series, Alexandra Bracken’s Passenger, and Elise Kova’s Earth’s End.  So those are already on my okay to buy list. As you can see below, I’ve got lots to keep my busy.  I’d love to hear from you in the comments if there are any of these I should definitely read next!

TBR 2016

My second specific action is to set up a better photography spot.  I get very little natural light in my house, so getting some better artificial light and dedicating a spot for taking photos should help.

And finally, I need to cross-post more reviews.  I have them scatter between here, amazon and goodreads and I’d like to get them up in all those spots.

That should be enough to get me started this year.  I hope 2016 is a fantastic year for everyone filled with good health, good times and good reads!

Leave a Reply

