National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month.  I initially intended to write that poetry isn’t one of my favourite things to read, but that there are a few poems that have stuck with me over the years.  And then I went to find my books to pull out a couple of poems to share.  Turns out I like poetry more than I thought I did, if the pile of well worn poetry books are any indication!

poetry books

So instead, I’m going to say that I enjoy some poetry.  Especially that which is funny or inspirational.  Long epic poems are still not my thing, I’d rather read a book.  Although if you’re willing to count classics such as Winnie the Pooh and the works of Dr. Seuss as poetry then I definitely enjoy some longer works.

Join me this month as I share a few of my favourite poems.   Do you read poetry? Do you have a favourite poem?  Share in the comments below.

I’ll leave you with Robert Burns “Selkirk Grace”.  This is our family’s blessing before big meals (like Christmas) as a reminder of our Scottish roots and of my very Scots grandparents who taught it to us.

Some hae meat and canna eat
And some wad eat that want it
But we hae meat and we can eat
And sae the Lord we thankit

Leave a Reply

