In Memoriam – Jo Beverley

The Word Wenches  shared some very sad news earlier this week .  Jo Beverley, romance writer supreme, passed away on May 23, 2016.  They’ve posted a lovely in memoriam and I recommend you go read it.

This is just an excerpt of Jo Beverley’s full bio from her website:

Jo Beverley is the author of over thirty published historical romances and many shorter works. The complete list is here. She has been the recipient of numerous awards including the Golden Leaf, the Award of Excellence, the National Readers Choice, and a two Career Achievement awards from Romantic Times. She is also a five time winner of the RITA, the top award of the Romance Writers Of America, and a member of their Hall of Fame and Honor Roll along with authors such as Nora Roberts and Susan Elizabeth Philips.

She regularly appears on bestseller lists including the USA Today overall bestseller list, the New York Times, and the Publishers Weekly list. LORD OF MIDNIGHT  received a starred review in Publishers Weekly, and her Georgian novel, MY LADY NOTORIOUS,  has appeared on a number of lists of the best romances ever. She has been described as “one of the great names of the genre” (Romantic Times) and her writing as “romance at its best” (Publishers Weekly, and “Sublime!” (Booklist.)

Jo Beverley was one of the first authors that I read when I started reading Romance novels. I’m pretty sure it was my university roommate who introduced me to Jo’s work. For me they deliver a consistent good story with female characters that display enough spunk and strength of character to keep me interested (simpering doesn’t work for me) and male leads that mostly appreciate that spunk. Her world building is excellent and effortlessly pulls you back in time. Her characters often frustrated me at least a bit (just talk to each other!) but I always take that as a sign I care about them.  I enjoy a good historical romance and Jo’s books deliver.  Along with others, such as Julie Garwood and Nora Roberts, her books were a must read for me.  I remember being so excited when Dare’s story finally came out!

Her full booklist is here but I especially enjoy her Company of Rogues series.  It’s exactly what I like in a book series.  Each book stands alone, but the characters overlap and there’s a tiny bit of a story that weaves through all of them.  It means that you get to go back and visit some of your old favourites, and you get to learn more about the characters that were just secondary in the first couple of books. And because these are regency era books I can forgive some of the sexism that occurs by attributing it to the customs and norms of the day.  I’m much more unforgiving of contemporary books (romance or otherwise). I invite you to go and check out The Rogues…I’m sure there will be at least one that strikes your fancy and leaves you wishing you could transport yourself to their fictional world.  I’m particularly fond of Tristan Hugh Tregallows, Duke of St. Raven (not a true rogue…more a rogue by association).

I don’t know what she had in the pipeline, but I imagine that this is the end of our visits back into Regency Era England. I’ll leave you with the information on her latest and likely last book and I know I’ll be pulling one of my old favourites off the shelf this weekend for a re-read.

Thanks for 25 years of wonderful books Jo!

 

0451471903

Title: The Viscount Needs a Wife
Author: Jo Beverley
Publisher: Signet (April 5 2016)
Sources: Amazon | Goodreads | Chapters
Rating: unrated

Summary:

Since being widowed two years ago, Kitty Cateril has been trapped in her late husband’s home, where she is expected to mourn forever. Desperate to escape, Kitty will consider any option—even a hasty marriage to a stranger with no intention of abandoning his bachelor ways.

London life suits Beau Braydon, especially his work keeping Britain safe. So when he inherits the title of Viscount Dauntry, he has no intention of resettling on a rural estate. He can’t resist the opportunity to marry a sensible widow who can manage Beauchamp Abbey for him—until he realizes Kitty is more than he bargained for…

Before Kitty and Dauntry can adjust to each other, a threat to the royal family takes them to London. Soon someone is determined to prevent Dauntry from exposing the villain, and secrets in Kitty’s past threaten their growing love…

Leave a Reply

