Flashback Friday Review -Three Fates

Title: Three Fates
Author: Nora Roberts
Release Date: April 1, 2002
Find it: Amazon | Indigo | Goodreads
Genre: Romance – contemporary
My rating: 5/5

Summary:  When the Lusitania sank, one survivor became a changed man, giving up his life as a petty thief—but keeping the small silver statue he lifted, a family heirloom to future generations. Now, nearly a century later, that priceless heirloom, one of a long-separated set of three, has been stolen. And Malachi, Gideon, and Rebecca Sullivan are determined to recover their great-great-grandfather’s treasure, reunite the Three Fates, and make their fortune.The quest will take them from their home in Ireland to Helsinki, Prague, and New York where they will meet a brilliant scholar who will aid them in their hunt—and an ambitious woman who will stop at nothing to acquire the Fates…

My Thoughts:
I love Nora Roberts. She’s pretty much an auto buy for me and Three Fates is one of my favourites of all her books (or at least of her stand alone books). This book is a bit like a trilogy combined into one book. Each of the three sections features a different Sullivan sibling as they try to recover their fate (a small statue) and find the other two.

The highlights:

  • The Three Fates – I love the story/concept of the three fates. I’ve always been a sucker for the concept of fate and things being meant to be. I love the combination of destiny and free will that is woven into this

The first, who held the spindle spoke, ‘I spin the thread, but you will make what you will.’ The second held a silver tape for measuring and said, ‘I mark the length, but you use the time.’ And the third, with her silver scissors, told me this, ‘I cut the thread for nothing should last forever. Don’t waste what you are given.

  • The characters – as always Nora Roberts characters are good looking, quick thinking and each have their own voice. I enjoyed how the characters were able to use their own strengths. Tia is a neurotic mess, but when she confronts the villain she uses that to her advantage. And when reading for pleasure an attractive Irishman (or two) is never a bad thing!
  • The words. There is some great dialogue in this story and some great passages. It’s a bit heavy on references to fate but that’s to be expected.

The story is predictable (for the most part) and has typical insta-love…and I’m totally good with this. I love this book for being an engaging read with some plot driven suspense and a whole lot of warm fuzzies for characters I like ending up together. This isn’t a deep read, it’s a well done romance novel.

Leave a Reply

