Top Ten Tuesday – Under-rated Books

The lovely folks at Broke and Bookish host a weekly meme called Top Ten Tuesday. This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads

Since my reviews on Goodreads aren’t completely up to date this is me doing the best I can!  I sorted my reviews in order from highest to lowest and then went through and picked the ones that had less than 2000 ratings in the order they appeared.

From my 5-star reviews:

  1. Once They Were Hats by Frances Backhouse – You can read my review here. This is a delightful book about the history of the beaver in North America. It’s a great read and is currently being passed around my family faster than a beaver can fell an ash tree.
  2. The Merit Birds by Kelley Powell – You can read my review here.  This is a YA fiction about a Canadian boy who moves to Laos with his mother. The descriptions of the culture in Laos is particularly poignant.
  3. Every Word by Ellie Marney – I still need to write my review. This is book #2 in the Every series. It’s a modern version of Sherlock and Wastson with Australian teens. It’s great and is one of my highly recommended books.
  4. Burn by Paula Weston – You can read my review here. This is the final book in the Rephaim series and it was great.  It’s angels, demons and lots of action set in Australia.

 

From my 4-star reviews:

  1. Who Broke the Teapot by Bill Slavin – You can read my review here. This is a fun children’s picture book. It’s got a bit of a mystery, a twist at the end and great illustrations.
  2. The Seduction of Kinley Foster by Lisa Wells – You can read my review here. This is a contemporary romance set in Vegas. Lots of fun and a great summer read, but it’s definitely on the mature side.
  3. Clara’s Return by Suzanna J. Linton- You can read my review here. This is a YA/NA fantasy novel that is a sequel to Clara. With a strong heroine it’s another good read.
  4. Every Breath by Ellie Marney – I need to write this review too! The first in the Every series, it wasn’t quite as strong as it’s sequel but was a fantastic read. I love the relationship between Rachel and Mycroft, it’s very real while still leaving you with all the feels.
  5. Duke of Sin by Elizabeth Hoyt – You can read my review here. This is book #10 in the Maiden Lane series and I’m pretty sure the only reason it made this list is because it’s a new release and people haven’t reviewed yet. It’s a regency romance that most definitely earns a mature rating.

Take a minute to give these under-rated (but awesome) books a glance and see if you want to add any to your TBR (Paula Weston’s Rephaim series and Ellie Marney’s Every series are definite must-adds for me).

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Under-rated Books

  1. I love the cover and the title of Once they were hats. So cute! First time visiting your blog, very nice. I like your writing style! Please hop over to Mareli Thalk ink and have a look at my Top Ten Underrated books. Happy reading!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by. Once They Were Hats is great. It’s non-fiction but super interesting, and each chapter can be read as a kind of stand-alone so perfect for picking up when you’ve got some time for reading. I’ll be sure to check out your list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

