Flashback Friday – Anne of Green Gables

 

IMG_5291.JPG
My well loved copy, from PEI

 

Title: Anne of Green Gables
Author: Lucy M. Montgomery
Release Date: 1908
Find it: Amazon | Indigo | Goodreads
My rating: 5/5

Summary:
Everyone’s favorite redhead, the spunky Anne Shirley, begins her adventures at Green Gables, a farm outside Avonlea, Prince Edward Island. When the freckled girl realizes that the elderly Cuthberts wanted to adopt a boy instead, she begins to try to win them and, consequently, the reader, over.

My thoughts:

This is one of my all-time favourite reads. It’s the one book that I own multiple copies of, and even have in French. I love the descriptive passages and the adventures Anne has. I first attempted reading it when  I was about 8 and I just couldn’t get into it. It’s not a fast-paced book and it’s not an easy read. I tried again as a pre-teen and fell in love with it. Anne gets herself into trouble a lot, and she has a very over active imagination (which is the cause of much of her trouble), but at her heart she is caring and kind. She sees the positive in almost everything. It’s important to remember that she’s only a young girl at the start of the book. She’s not 17 or 18 and on the verge of adulthood. She’s 11 and she’s had a tough life so far. You get to see her character grow and mature throughout the book as she ages.  The secondary characters in this are great as well. You’ll love to hate Mrs. Rachel Lynde and you’ll just love quiet, steady Mathew. This has the original (well probably not, but it was the first I read), hate-to-love, slow burn relationship between Anne and Gilbert

I know there are complaints about this book being boring and not having enough action. Or that it’s got too many words. I think it’s important to remember that this was first published in 1908. Way before Young Adult was a genre and in a time when books were typically written more in this style. Books such as this contributed greatly to the vocabulary I have today. And sinking into the lovely, descriptive text is like being wrapped in a warm blanket. You’ll likely have to work a bit harder to read it, and there aren’t any battle scenes as it’s all based in the quiet village of Avonlea, in Prince Edward Island. But if you can immerse yourself in the world you’ll find it’s a place you want to stay.

Leave a Reply

